Media Contacts & Information

AWU Greater NSW Branch Media Contact

Stephen Bali, AWU Organiser & Media Officer
Telephone: 02 9897 3644
Mobile: 0414 525 007
Facsimile: 02 9897 1481

About The Australian Workers' Union, Greater NSW Branch

The AWU is Australia's oldest and most diverse trade union, originally formed in 1886 as the Amalgamated Shearers Union.

Today the AWU represents over 130,000 workers employed in industries including the mining, pastoral, horticultural/agricultural, civil construction, manufacturing, pharmaceuticals, services, recreational, aluminium, aviation, oil and gas, steel, racing, chemicals, forestry and paper sectors.

The AWU has the main branch in  NSW being the NSW Branch. The three branches are registered as The Australian Workers' Union, New South Wales under the NSW Industrial Relations Act.

The Greater NSW Branch is based in Granville and has eight regional offices located in Albury, Canberra, Dubbo, Grafton, Griffith, Orange, Tamworth and Wagga Wagga.

The State Secretary of the AWU is Russ Collison, the National Secretary of the AWU is Paul Howes.

A historical timeline of the AWU is avaliable here.

AWU Greater NSW Branch Media Releases

AWU National Office Media Releases